Recently we could welcome four ladies and 10 gents from the Bike club Spiez, staying from Thursday til Monday in the valley. This was thanks to the local Sascha Fliri (from Sta. Maria, Bikeclub Spiez) who organised the sty together with us.


Friday and Sunday they had two guided technical tours with Nicole. And thanks to the shuttle service from Romex, they also enjoyed the rest of the days the trails in Val Müstair.

On Friday Tibettrail was scheduled. A highlight followed just before the tour: They could watch a bearded vulture flying just above their heads just before the wanted to start their ride.

The following technical switchbacks were mastered brilliantly, even if the on or the other had to be done “manually” off the bike. Everybody enjoyed the challenge. After that they took the infamous chairlift – on which you are sitting for 20 minutes holding your bike on your lap – up to Furkelhütte for a lovely lunch followed by a descent down to Prad and Glurns. There they stopped for an ice cream an some tourist shopping. Full of newly gained energy they pedalled up to Müstair for a quick pit stop at The Bike Patcher and then back “home” to the youth hostel in Sta. Maria.

Sunday was the “bike and hike day”. From Stelvio over Goldseetrail they descended to Furkelhütte for a quick coffee break. After that they climbed up to Piz Chavalatsch – pushing, carrying and riding their bikes. Therefore they appreciated the Hikeabike-Tipps of Nicole.


On Piz Chavalatsch, the most eastern point of Switzerland, the guys from Spiez enjoyed the most beautiful view over Val Müstair and Southern Tyrol.


After a nice break they tackled a long technical descent with sometimes sheer drops left and right, topped by a steep ride down to  Rifair/Müstair.

Everybody was tired but happy.

Kürzlich durften wir zehn Herren und vier Damen vom Bikeclub Spiez von Donnerstag bis Montag bei uns im Val Müstair begrüssen. Dies is dank dem Local Sascha Fliri (aus Sta. Maria, Bikeclub Spiez) zustande gekommen, der das mit uns organisiert hatte.


Am Freitag und am Sonntag gab es ein Guiding mit Nicole auf technische Touren, aber auch an den restlichen Tagen, waren die Spiezer dank dem Transport von Romex auf den Trails im Val Müstair unterwegs.

Am Freitag stand der Tibettrail auf dem Programm. Ein Highlight folgte schon vor der Tour: Eine lange Bartgeierbeobachtung direkt über unseren Köpfen, gerade bevor wir losfuhren.
Die vielen technischen Spitzkehren wurden zum Teil auch manuell umgesetzt, aber alle hatten mega Spass. Danach ging es mit dem berühmten Sessel – bei dem man 20 Minuten lang sein Bike auf dem Schoss halten muss – hoch zur Furkelhütte für einen feinen Zmittag bevor es dann runter nach Prad und Glurns ging. Bei letzterem gabs dann ein Glace und ein bisschen Touristenshopping. Gestärkt pedalierten wir nach Müstair, wo es beim Bike Patcher einen Flick-Stopp gab und danach gings noch hoch bis zur Jugi in Sta. Maria.

Am Sonntag folgte dann der „bike and hike-Tag“. Vom Stelvio über den Goldseetrail gab es einen Kaffeestopp bei der Furkelhütte. Danach ging es weiter, hoch auf den Piz Chavalatsch mit Schiebe-, Trage- und Fahrpassagen. Gewusst wie – dabei gab es Hikeabike-Trage-Tipps von Nicole.


Auf dem Piz Chavalatsch, dem östlichsten Punkt der Schweiz, hatten die Spiezer bei ihrer Pause eine wunderschöne Aussicht ins Val Müstair und ins Südtirol.


Danach folgte eine lange technische Fahrt in abfallendem Gelände, teilweise sogar links und rechts die dann noch von einer steilen Abfahrt in Richtung Rifair/Müstair getoppt wurde.

Das Fazit: Alle waren müde und glücklich.